About Mort

6 Jan

Let’s start at the very beginning and work our way up to the complex. We can begin this with a short introduction. My name is Francis Buennagel. I’m know as Mort (Morty McFly) to the tecmo world. I was 19 in 2002 and discovered my favorite league had an active online community.

I joined a league, played for a while and then left.

I loved Tecmo too much to stay away and came back. I played for a few years on and off till about 2008. It was then I discovered live Tecmo Tournaments. My first three tourney’s I gradually improved my performance and achieved the ultimate honor in Tecmo. In 2010 I won the Madison Tecmo Tourney. Since then I went on to win several more Tourney’s in New York City, Cleveland, Connecticut and even my hometown of Buffalo. While continuing to do well In Madison and Cincinnati.

Next came the whole NFL films deal and live tv exposure.

Yet all this time i always wanted to pass on some of the things I have learned. I’ve had a lot of success with my first student who has become a tecmo force. So if you want some advice on getting better or a good read this might be the blog for you.

3 Responses to “About Mort”

  1. Tecmo Pro (@TecmoPro) January 6, 2013 at 6:56 pm #

    Hey Mort I’m definitely going to be following this blog. I just recently started playing Tecmo Super Bowl and I’ve been looking for strategies and tips just like this, I’ll be blogging about my learning experience at tecmopro.com . Looking forward to more updates!

  2. Jimbo January 11, 2013 at 3:22 am #

    Thanks for the article. I play tecmo every weekend with a buddy. This guy plays with the chiefs. I think the chiefs may be the best team in the game. Thomas is a force and is difficult to beat him. But I do fool him from time to time. I use the raiders. I open up with a pass to get him off balance. But that qb is bad, strong arm, no pc. But I do we’ll when I set my feet. But he always throw the ball up on offense and Robb Thomas and Paige always catch it. Even if I call the play. What do you suppose I do? Cuz I have to respect the run cuz I could get burned.

    • mort1237 January 11, 2013 at 2:23 pm #

      Its hard to shut down the passing game with the raiders secondary. They have a lot of speed but not a lot of int. If your good with running and disciplined at the qb position try being chicago versus him. They have a lot of int and can shut down his passing game with the best secondary in tecmo. Another team to try is Cincy to use Fulcher to cut down his passing game. Being Cincy would give you a better qb too.
      KC’s defense is weak to stronger passing games. They are good but there are several teams better. I think Hou would tear them apart. Buffalo/NYG would also be tough on them. Let alone SF. I consider KC to be somewhere from 5-7 on the list of top teams in TSB. A virtual tie with KC/Chi/Rai.

Leave a Reply

